Oh, Right, Bike Riding is FUN!

So, we used to have a 14″ bike that B would use to ride. We discovered in March that he became a wee too big for. And when I say “wee too big” I mean that boy was low-riding in the suburban hood.

The conundrum is that there are not a lot of “in between” bikes before you get to the regular 20″ ride. And that seemed…so…big. So after hemming and hawing we decided to go for it. Husband found a great used bike in town, took B to see it, try it out…and he liked it. So we bought it.

Right after that, he had his epic Easter meltdown because the seat was a teensy bit too high. The bike was marooned in our garage. We begged B to try again but he steadfastly refused. He wanted his other bike back (which I already sold at a consignment sale). We explained about growing up and learning new things and “big boys can ride big bikes.”

But he still refused.

Until recently, for some unknown reason, he decided he wanted to ride again. Now that it’s summer, Husband picks up B much earlier and spends time with him before I get home from work. Husband must have done some “Bike Whisperer” bit, I think. Also, he was also able to lower the bike seat a little bit. After a couple of attempts, B was back on the bike. At first I think it was for a short distance.

Then his confidence came back with a WHOOOOOOOOSH!

He’s now riding and enjoying it. Of course now I’m freaking out because he gets way out in front of me and I can’t see ahead. One time, while I was with Mayita and B ahead of me, a car came down our street. No worries, he just tucked and rolled off the bike and ran to the side. Of course, leaving the bike in the street, but that’s a minor inconvenience.

It’s great that he is embracing the bike again.

Bike

Now, he’s too big for his helmet.

*facepalm*

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Life, Love, Magic Moments, Mayor Bee, Ramblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Oh, Right, Bike Riding is FUN!

  1. I feel you pain. Giggle. What is it with these kids? I do not envy your having to get B into a new helmet. I showed the photo of B on his bike to my son (10), and my son looked at the helmet and said, “Cool!” Happy (and safe) riding!!

    Like

  2. Krystal says:

    I still hate riding a bike so B has one up on me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

