Blog-a-versary time.

Two years ago (give or take), I began my blogging journey.

I did it because I was tired of trying to explain how my life got upended with an autism diagnosis. Trying is the operative term here; I would always start something and then inevitably would have to stop to deal with something that B did (or was going to do).

The first year I blogged under “The Invisible Disability” – a fitting name since that is a common term for autism. I wanted to share my story, just like I saw everyone else doing. I still keep it, not sure why but I haven’t let go of that domain yet.

Within the first year, however, I discovered that I was more than an autism momma. I was a working mom to an infant toddler DIVA and a crazy rescue dog. I sat in traffic jams, meetings and parent conferences. I participated on more conference calls with an ill child than I care to remember.

I went to my first (and currently only) blogging conference and realized that I could blog about other things and not lose my “voice”. I knew who I wasn’t (not crafty, not too crude, definitely not political). But I knew I had more to say here.

Besides, how many of you knew about Protein Losing Enteropathy in dogs? I didn’t think so.

So I changed my blog to One LoCo Mommy – a pun on the area I live in Northern Virginia. This past year I got to know my area a lot more and what it can offer for those with special needs. I made new friends and expanded my network.

I hope in the next year I can build upon what I have learned in the last year. Also, probably need to work on a portfolio. You know, when I’m not running to meetings/changing diapers/cooking dinner/trying to sleep.

So here’s to two years. Prost!

Sorry, no raffles or giveaways. Can’t afford it! Maybe next year. 🙂

Cheese

Mayita looks ecstatic celebrating my blogaversary.

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blog-a-versary time.

  1. Happy Blogiversary!! You are definitely not alone in writing about how your child (and their diagnosis or diagnoses) flipped your life upside down. And I love your using LoCo Mommy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

