Our Summer Stimtastic Voyage

“Come along and ride on a fantastic voyage/slide slide slippity-slide/I do what I do just to survive” – Coolio, ”Fantastic Voyage”, It Takes a Thief, Tommy Boy Records, 1994.

“She said don’t hand me no lines and keep your hands to yourself.” – The Georgia Satellites, “Keep Your Hands to Yourself”, Georgia Satellites, Elektra, 1986.

This summer has been flying by.

B and Mayita have been enjoying themselves at school and at home. Both of the kids love the pool and their bikes which helps with activity.

Summertime...and the livin's easy.

Summertime…and the livin’s easy.

B even got to meet Marcus Washington, a football player formerly of the Redskins, at the Aurora School’s 10th anniversary event. B impressed Mr. Washington with his awesome punting skills.

B with Marcus Washington

Meeting Marcus Washington

Marcus Washington3

Showing off his drop kick expertise.

Summers to me have always been a bit more carefree, a chance to sleep in, watch mindless MTV (back when there were still videos, gasp), go to the public pool, and stay up late. With B, I have to juggle fun “summer” stuff with making sure he doesn’t go overboard with stimulation. Or, worse, regress back into his old habits. But it hasn’t been easy  keeping up with a summer routine. 

As I wrote before, he has been mainly going to one school, except for two weeks ago when he went to the daycare camp. That diversion, plus my absences from home to take care of my Dad (who is progressing in his recovery) I’m sure has made things a bit off.

B’s stimming has increased over the past two months. He has a tendency to keep in motion, whether it’s laying down and kicking his legs in the air, or walking from one chair to another. And it’s not exactly slow-paced either – quite frankly, I don’t know if B knows what “slow” really means. 😉

Then there is the hands and the hugging.

Now, once upon a time, B was very adverse to touching or hugs or any contact whatsoever. He seriously would push you away if you approached him with a open arms. Now, he craves it and will literally knock you over to give you a hug. Part of it is the sensory input (deep pressure), some of it is his progression to being more affectionate.

Which is sweet (everyone he knows LOVES his hugs), but also dangerous. I’m not talking about “you’re in my space” annoyance – more like knocking over your younger sister and  bumping her head type of way. Or hurting one of your friends at school because they won’t share a toy. Or inappropriately touching a teacher (or mommy) to get attention. Ahem.

We have to work on our “boundaries”.  And “quiet hands” and “quiet feet” and “quiet arms”. Of course, it’s not really quiet, when I have to repeat myself to B.  It’s tiring to me to put my “Monotone Mommy” voice on to continuously tell B to calm oneself.

Even when I give him time to stim to his heart’s content, it doesn’t seem like it’s enough. It’s tricky to get him balanced – too little and he stims; too much and you get the overtired backlash.

Then we have to balance B’s needs with Mayita’s needs. She is now a DIVA preschooler. She has also picked up on skills that B didn’t possess at the same age – meaning, she’s already catching up to B. She jumps into the pool and can paddle/kick independently (with floaties). She rides a tricycle quite handily. She can climb the rock wall on our backyard play structure. She has no fear, but in a different way from B, if that makes any sense.

I guess part of Mayita’s development stems from being the younger kid and mimicing B. Also, as far as we know, she is neurotypical. I guess while this may seem “normal” to everyone else (and girls do develop faster) – but it gives me pause on how fast she is catching up.

However, after struggling so long with B to acquire skills, it’s like I whipped my head and Mayita is already there.  Waiting with a big grin on her face to say, “what’s next?”

So we head into the final month of “summer”. B will once again “surf” and then we’ll go to vacation at the beach. It will be very different without our beloved Jackpot to roam the beach and streak into the waves. We’ll miss that terribly.

Then school will start, and I will have to press “Play” all over again to start Side 2. 🙂

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Autism, Family, Fun in the Sun, Life, Love, Magic Moments, Mayita, Mayor Bee, Ramblings, School, Siblings, Stimming and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Our Summer Stimtastic Voyage

  1. Lisa says:

    B and Mayita remind me of Tate and Cole. Cole has even surpassed Tate in a few areas, which is hard for me, sometimes. I totally get the different types of fearless. Same thing here.

    Oh, and the stimming. Tate’s relaxed routine coupled with anxiety (already!) about school has him moving, moving, moving.

    Long reply here, but just wanted to say, you are not alone.

    Like

    • OneLoCoMommy says:

      So funny how our kids are similar. And B keeps asking about school, and when he is going back to “the other school” (the daycare)…and when he’s going to the beach, and to the p-o-o-l (his spelling) and…well, you hear my mind kinda getting smooshed by all his questions. 🙂

      Like

  2. Teresa says:

    There are a few areas where my 2 year old has surpassed my 6 year old already, so I can relate to that whole thing. Just watching them eat is something I marvel at. Big Guy (the 2 year old) holds the utensil almost perfectly, bringing his food to his mouth, taking a bite, and brings it down without dropping any food. Squeaker (my 6 year old with Autism), still uses his fingers. If he uses a utensil, he drops food on the way to his mouth because he puts too much on the spoon. He doesn’t use a fork efficiently yet. The differences are astounding!

    Like

  3. My Little Man was always needing hugs, especially when he was little. He loves to lie on the floor and have a sofa cushion or two on top of him, and then have someone lie on the cushion. We’ve wrapped him in blankets and pressed on him. And he has a weighted blanket. Do any of these help B.? We’ve had a relaxed summer, with no camp or organized anything except twice weekly tutoring for reading. I am dreading school starting. And I’m dreading when Little Man starts to get all wound up about going back to school. I expect it any day.

    Like

  4. Krystal says:

    ((HUGS)) I get it. I’m with you and I get it. Time flies by and sometimes we don’t realize it because we are so focused on the now. And the stimming – overload in our house – can’t wait for the routine to come back!

    Like

  5. Pingback: Farewell 2013. | One LoCo Mommy

Leave a Reply

