Back to School Again!

Finally, the first day of school is here. And the first post from me in about a week. Vacation-mode will do that to you.

Anyway, we tried our best to prepare B for the transition. And when I say he was excited…well, that is an understatement. His echolalia kicked into warp speed and the past few days have been nothing but nonstop speak about school, and the bus, and everything else.

This morning, he was so excited he tripped over a blanket in the living room en route to getting dressed. I can sense that his mind was going so fast but jumbled with what happened yesterday, or last week at the beach – and what was coming out of his mouth was difficult to translate (even to me!).

He finally got dressed, and we did the seemingly hip (read: parental uncool) thing of taking a picture with a sign. My dreams of a neat Pinteresty sign never materialized (read: lazy mom) and I was satisfied with at least putting the right date on said sign.

He was so excited that he actually looks anxious.

He was so excited that he actually looks anxious.

So we got to the bus stop and talked to the others (my neighbors, my friends down the street and another new couple) while waiting for the bus. And in the grand tradition of something going wrong with Transportation…the bus did not show up.

Dude, mom, where is the bus?

Dude, mom, where is the bus?

Seriously, what on earth did we ever do to the Transportation Gods?

Luckily, we are now within walking distance of the school (we are not deemed “walkers”, however, because there is no sidewalk to the school) so we traipsed our way behind the house, over the hill and around the school. And we made it in time, with two minutes to spare!

On the way there, B was still very much excited and his voice kept rising (no matter what I did he refused to turn it down). My friend’s boy (who is actually in B’s Kindergarten class) said “why is he being so loud”. I sighed (humorously of course) and said, “because that’s just the way B is right now” and his mom chuckled.

I got to meet his Cross-Cat (or Resource) Teacher officially as well – as I was blindly asking a couple people where B was supposed to go. (Again, do not plan vacation for the week before school starts.) In addition, B got to see two of his teachers from his afterschool program last year – their “day” jobs are actually at his elementary school. It was nice to know that there will be others “looking out” for him.

As for the bus, it had mechanical issues and had to go back to the garage. All the kids in the neighborhood were affected, as I found out later. At least I didn’t have to leave work this time to drive and take him to school, so I deem that a victory.

His daycare bus did arrive on time and did get him, so that was a relief. 🙂

As for Mayita, I got her to daycare and into her new preschool classroom. She was not amused at first by the thought of me leaving her. In pure diva-mode, she clung onto my legs and implored me to stay (implore = crying hysterically).

Preschool sign

However, once I took her around and showed her the awesome toys, she changed her mind and allowed me to go to work. 

Getting comfy in her new surroundings. However, she refused to hold a sign.

Getting comfy in her new surroundings. However, she refused to hold a sign.

And so ends the first school day. Judging by no phone calls to home, office or to my cell – I guess that it was a success. And success in this case equals no monumental tantrums

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Autism, Daycare, Family, IEP, Life, Love, Magic Moments, Mayita, Mayor Bee, Ramblings, School, Siblings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Back to School Again!

  1. Denise says:

    Yay for a good first day!

    Like

  2. Lisa says:

    Happy to hear it was a great first day all around! We had a transportation glitch on our first day this year, as well. Glad that everything went smoothly after that!

    Like

    • OneLoCoMommy says:

      The bus did show up today! There was a mechanical issue, and it’s still in the shop.

      The bus today was a different number, which if I had known before I would have mentioned it to B. The whole “number thing” threw B off – he kept saying it was the wrong bus and was not letting one of the boys explain why it was a different number. Sigh.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Second Week of School. | One LoCo Mommy

Leave a Reply

