Second Week of School.

Well, the first week came and went.

The bus continued to show up (after the initial first day hiccup) on time, at the right place. “Mr. Bill” has been driving this route since it began, so while I have not formally met him, seems to deal just fine with the kids. I know B sits closer to the front which works with me. My worry, of course, is that without the “restraints” B will not want to sit still. Luckily, he likes the bus so much that he tends to follow the rules.

It’s an adjustment going from door-to-door service with a helper to waiting in line with other kids, but he is doing well.

Knock on wood.

Anyway, I just got off the phone with his Cross Cat teacher. Apparently (already) “The Team” needs to convene to review data for his BIP. I know that sounds strange, as we are only in the second week. Most likely, his BIP will remain in effect, as is, for the foreseeable future. But, I was informed that this was to meet the quarter-end “deadline” so whatever.

Besides, it will give me a chance to meet “The Team”, again. There have been changes even since our transitional IEP meeting in April. The Cross Cat teacher is new. The Ass’t Principal is new AND his Kindergarten teacher is still out on leave. So, I have no idea who is still there. 😉

The Cross Cat teacher also noted that so far, B has been doing great. Now, she adds with caution, it’s not too demanding right now and the foreseeable change with the teachers will be something to face. I don’t know if he’s making any new friends, but it sounds like he is working well within the mainstream structure.

To end this post on a slight downer, I was a little sad at the bus stop this morning. I can see the differences between B and the other kids. I can see him trying to talk to them and trying to socialize. I won’t say that he is shoved aside (he’s not and you KNOW I would be all over that), but it’s…noticeable. And while adults may be amused by his consistent stream of thoughts that come out of his mouth, other kids are not.

It’s the classic social awkwardness that is a marked trait of autism. I have always known that, but now in a “typical” school setting, it’s definitely showing itself brightly. B, to his credit, surely doesn’t acknowledge any difference. He is perfectly happy to talk non-stop about buses, and how they run, and how it’s still the “other bus” because the “real bus” is not working, etc.

And while I try not to, I wring my hands in anxiety about it. At this point I can easily intervene and distract B whenever I sense him going to the extreme. But for how long? Does he continue it on the bus? How about when he gets to After-Kindergarten? 

Yeah, welcome back to school. Sheesh!

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Kindergarten, Life, Love, Mayor Bee, Ramblings, School and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Second Week of School.

  1. Back to school, back to anxiety. I’m there with you.

    Like

  2. I hear ya! Except OUR challenge is this is high school and they’re allowing him a LOT of independence even with school having just started. Waiting and praying that the other shoe doesn’t drop! Things have gone well other than (us too btw) the first day of school the bus not showing up to pick him up! lol

    Like

  3. Lisa says:

    Does he do social work at school? Working with the social worker really helped Jake with some of the social awkwardness and talking with peers.

    Like

  4. Denise says:

    Glad B is doing well

    Like

    • OneLoCoMommy says:

      Well, this evening I was greeted with, “I was a little silly today at school”. Wasn’t a great start to the evening, but I was assured that all the kids were silly today. Maybe it was because the Redskins were playing tonight? 😉

      Like

  5. Sounds pretty positive. Yes, I held my breath the first week of school (last week), and things went mostly well. Little Man did have some anxiety about some things, and I’m meeting with his teacher in 2 days- just to check in with her. I think this is going to be a good year, despite a big ramp up in academics (he’s in 5th grade now). Keep the faith and keep up communication with school.

    Like

Leave a Reply

