We Got Spirit, How About You?

Last night was B’s school’s first “Spirit Night”, held at a local Chick-Fil-A. Most schools have these – where a portion of the proceeds will go back to the school.

Pom Pom

We debated about going – the cost,the crowd, the noise, etc. We thought that it would be “too much” and disrupt the nightly routine we’ve been working on. So we decided that unless B says something we won’t go.

As I was walking into the door from work last night, B found the flyer on the island and said “Chick-Fil-A is tonight!” Then the jumping around and giggling started. Then he got Mayita wound up, talking about the playground (“Pgound” is what she says) so we are now dealing with two excited kids.

Well I guess that sealed the deal. We were going.

We loaded up the car and drove to the restaurant. Pulling in, we could see that the parking lot was packed. Immediately I get a little anxious ball in my stomach but shoved it down and we went in. I know that there is always a backup plan if it becomes too much.

As we scanned the restaurant looking for anywhere to sit, I could hear a little boy calling out B’s name. Sure enough, there was a little boy at a booth, waving his arms. And B walked over and said “Hi D”, just as “normal” as you could be. I found out that “D” is in his Kindergarten class and they live in the neighborhood.

And as they chatted for a minute or two about…well, not really sure what they were talking about – I was giddy inside from the fact that:

1. A kid in his class called out to him, and

2. B reacted in what you would call a “socially appropriate” manner.

And while the kids spent more time playing in the playground, looking at their “toy” (a watch), and not eating their food (thank goodness for doggie bags), it was fun.  As we (finally) were leaving, he saw “D” and they said goodbye.

They enjoyed themselves, so I guess that was the important part. Plus, I got to meet a new friend. Oh, and the money raised for the school. That too. 🙂

By the way, I’m now a card-carrying member of the PTA. While in some aspects I buck against this, I know that involvement will be key to progress in the school. Just as long as it doesn’t turn into Harper Valley PTA, it’ll be good.

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Family, Kindergarten, Life, Loudoun Local, Mayita, Mayor Bee, School, Siblings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to We Got Spirit, How About You?

  1. Wow! Great night. It’s all good. Unfortunately, these days with budget cuts, the PTA (at least around here) raises much needed money so the kids can have things like a field trip at the end of the year.

    Like

  2. We got hit with our first fundraiser ON THE FIRST DAY OF SCHOOL! lol

    Virginia Diner anyone? LOL!

    So glad B had a great time! 🙂

    Like

  3. Krystal says:

    That is awesome!!! I’ve tried those family nights and they have been nightmares!! I’m so gald that yours went well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

