The BIP Update.

BIP

Today Husband and I met with his IEP team to reassess his behavior. The last one I went to took only a few minutes to review the data and agree to any changes. Easy peasy lemon squeezy.

However, this is a new year, new school, new IEP team. I should have known when they were running 15 minutes late that there would be trouble. 🙂

The school system recently updated their computer software for IEPs. Since B’s Functional Behavior Assessment (FBA) was on the “old” platform, they had to redo it in order to  upload into the new system. Which meant they had to reobserve B in various settings. And it meant we had to sit through this meeting so we can sign that to be included in his records.

During the majority of the meeting Husband and I watched while one Resource Teacher typed information into the computer program. Meanwhile, another staff member was correcting and making suggestions to the Resource Teacher. There was a lot of back and forth between us. Also, it was a bit awkward as parents to watch the staff debate language and how to even fill out a form. I wouldn’t say there was bickering…but…it was bit awkward.

Anyway. The biggest surprise was how B was doing. In a 180 from his last FBA, B has not shown aggression or noncompliance when given a direction. The issues presented previously – the kicking, hitting, yelling, etc – are virtually nonexistent. I even consulted the previous FBA (done last April) and it looked nothing like what they were telling me about B.

Oh, don’t get me wrong, there are still issues. Namely – spatial relations, voice control, and the utter need to be FIRST at everything. Transitions are still hard. But, it looks like redirecting and prompting have worked so far. But, for him to not immediately meltdown in the larger classroom settings is a pretty big accomplishment.

I discovered that there is a paraprofessional in the room as well as the teacher and assistant. As far as I am aware, he shares her with another student. She is always there and aware of B, even if she’s not directly working with him. Add in the Resource Teacher and the OT, he has a strong support team.

Not one to get too optimistic, I mentioned that we are only in the 3rd week of school, and that when his “real” teacher comes back we could be in for a doozy of a storm.

The BIP was adjusted to reflect behaviors that are more on the impulsivity side versus pure behavioral difficulties. And we all kind of agreed that this is pretty darn fluid, as we don’t know when that shoe will drop. 

Husband noted when we left that he was exactly like that as a child. He would behave during the school day, following directions and all that. But once he got home, all hell would break loose, figuratively speaking.

I think that’s how B is now – he may be working so hard to “be good” that when he gets home he unleashes everything on us. Anyone else go through something similar?

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Autism, IEP, Life, Mayor Bee, Ramblings, School, Special Needs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

