A Hard Lesson Learned.

We are able to breathe a sigh of relief.

So, the shutdown is over. You know, in the final hours prior to default, but hey, whatever.

People are starting to assimilate back to their old routine. Commuter routes were stuffed with cars and motorcycles again and Metro was armpit-to-armpit with workers. There were overflowing inboxes with unopened e-mails. Dust on desks. I can only imagine what the office fridges look like at this point.

As for us, Husband got “the notice” to report back to his contract midmorning Thursday.  Husband is back at work and I know he is happy to be back in “normal office politics”, for what it’s worth.

The only “minor” issue is that because Mayita was only in daycare two days this week, I needed to work from home today for her.

However, it was a big time reality check. It was also a flashback I didn’t want to experience as an adult.

When I was a child, there were quite a few times Dad was laid off (he was a journeyman electrician). I remember when my mom had to go back to work at the nursing home and we became latchkey children. I remember the “free” lunch program at school. I don’t know how my parents made, but I’m pretty sure it was not a lot.

My dad crossed a picket line for his family, because he needed the money.

Believe me, I know my parents worked very hard for my sisters and me. I’m grateful. I remember that it did get better – both of them ended up in stable blue collar jobs and we rose to a middle class household by the time I was in high school.

I also know that they wanted me to have a better life and to pay it forward. They are proud now that their grandchildren are getting some awesome opportunities that they couldn’t provide for us.

So it kind of sucks when you realize that you are a mere slip away for a catastrophic fall. I mean, we do save for retirement and attempt to save for the kid’s college educations. I shop consignment for the kids, try to use coupons and shut the lights off in the house when I can – but we left our short-term savings dwindle. With reality bopping us on the head, we better set a goal of getting that back up.

There won’t be any traveling for the holidays. Christmas and B’s birthday will both be lean. But we still have our family. We have the necessities. It’s enough for now.

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Family, Life, Love, Ramblings, The Lows and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Hard Lesson Learned.

  1. Denise says:

    Glad he is back at work. Such a crappy situation.

    Like

Leave a Reply

