My Dad’s Cancer Update.

My dad started IV chemotherapy on August 12, 2013.

On October 23, 2013, he finished his round of IV chemo.

Dad at his last chemo session.

Dad at his last chemo session.

Woot. Woot.

It hasn’t been easy for the family. Dad lost an inexplicable amount of weight during this time. As much as we begged and bribed him, he didn’t want to eat a lot. Everything tasted odd to him. He didn’t want to drink water. He was grouchier than Oscar, quite frankly.

The first few sessions wiped him out so much that all he wanted to do was sleep and watch Gunsmoke.

When they came and stayed with us at the beach house in August, it was different. The kids were of course loud and Dad was tired a lot. There were times that he was cranky at all of us. I know he liked being in a different location than the farm but he couldn’t go to the beach and it was hard to adapt activities to not only B but to Dad’s energy level.

I will share one funny tidbit. One day I took Mom and Dad to Wal-Mart for groceries. Apparently Dad is quite the scooter racer – I dropped him off at the front, parked the car, then couldn’t find him for 20 minutes. He had plopped himself in the scooter and zoomed off, excited to race around the aisles.

Anyway, Dad finally started to respond to the chemo in September. He started to get his appetite back and with that, gained weight. He also had more energy to do things. My parents started going back out to eat and his attitude improved.

Now, he has to prep his body for radiation therapy. This starts in November. Prior to that, he has to take a slew of pills to get ready. Unfortunately they have to make the one hour (one way) drive back and forth each day during this. They have a wonderful dog at home that they can’t leave alone. I pray that it will be good weather for the duration of radiation because they live in a mountainous area of Pennsylvania – which can mean dangerous roads.

Cancer still sucks. But now my dad is going to see his 69th birthday, which will be Monday. I’m thankful for that.

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Family, Ramblings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Dad’s Cancer Update.

  1. Glad to hear your Dad is finished with chemo. Yes, it’s rough. I hope with the radiation, they can really pinpoint it to where they need it to go. Prayers that the weather has only clear roads for their drives to treatment- and that the time passes as quickly as possible. And an early happy birthday to your Dad!

    Like

  2. Denise says:

    Glad he is doing well. Think of him often.

    Like

  3. Pingback: The End Of The Road. | One LoCo Mommy

Leave a Reply

