Giving Thanks.

It’s been a challenging year, but I’m still trying to maintain a positive attitude. But it’s pretty hard, when events out of your control keep popping up.

Regardless, yesterday I had the chance to go to the kid’s daycare for their Thanksgiving parties. Since both of them are at the same school, it was tricky splitting time between the two classrooms.

I went to Mayita’s room first, where they had pumpkin “fluff” and “hot” chocolate (which pretty much was chocolate milk because they couldn’t get it warm enough in time).

Party1

Then they decorated cookies.

Party2Party3

Then, I left a very clingy daughter (“mommy where are you going?) and went to B’s classroom. He was freaking out because “my mommy wasn’t here” according to his teachers. They had “centers” set up to do projects, like the turkey handprint and stringing noodle necklaces. But he had more fun trying to play the “wiggle game” in which you put an Oreo on your forehead and try to wiggle it down your face to your mouth. It’s not easy, as everyone wiggled their cookies right off their face and onto the floor. Luckily, you still get a cookie (not the dirty one, ha) to munch on.

He liked that.

Party4

They also had made headdresses so all the kids were running around in their cool “hats”.

Party6

He happily showed me his Thanksgiving book that he made in Kindergarten, especially the part about the Mayflower and the floating boat.

Party5

We stayed around a little bit longer and then packed up, got Mayita, and we headed home.

Some days, it’s extremely difficult to wade through all the little crap that derails your task list and whatnot. We’ve endured a lot this year – illnesses, cancer, death of loved ones (including Jackpot), the shutdown, and of course the nuances that autism/ADHD/SPD has brought us (we all know how extensive that can be).

But we’re still here and kickin’ it, right? And that’s what’s important. Happy Thanksgiving, y’all.

Did I mention that the kids are Mayflower descendants? That’s right, their 11th great grandfather was on that ship. I mean, they think Charlie Brown and the gang came over on the boat but that’s alright.
______________________________________________

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Family, Life, Love, Magic Moments, Mayita, Mayor Bee, PYHO, Ramblings, School and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Giving Thanks.

  1. So important to still enjoy the little things. xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

