Never Enough Time To Catch Up.

After coming back from Pennsylvania, my life has been thrown a few more wrenches.

First off, my dad is…well, I don’t know how he is. While in radiation treatment he had a CT Scan done because he was complaining of back pain. Well that revealed some “changes” and I don’t exactly know what that means. I don’t want to say the “M” word (metastasized) but the oncologist wants to wait until after radiation is over to reassess. He seemed to appreciate that I came up for a few days, though he was quite weak and we couldn’t really do much.

Dad at one of his radiation treatments.

Dad at one of his radiation treatments.

I tried to help my parents out by getting someone out there to clean up their dog, because that poor pooch was smelled and needed a trim. In response my mother got upset because she was worried that that the dog “may” bite the groomer. She wanted me to cancel the appointment. When I tried to reason with her, then institute “tough love”, she freaked out and hung up on me. Doh. The funny part was that she forgot to cancel the appointment, the groomer showed up, and the dog was JUST FINE. I found this out from my sister since I haven’t spoken to my mom since she hung up on me.

Then I found out from my sister that my dad fell this week at the house. He refused to go to the hospital for treatment (for his fall, not his radiation). Again, my mother is not talking to me yet.

Awesome.

The snow/ice that fell here for a couple of days messed up B’s schedule. On Monday he went to daycare the entire day. Tuesday both schools closed because of the mess. We had some fun sledding and shoveling.

No, it was not yellow snow.

No, it was not yellow snow.

At this age, you couldn't coax B on a sled. Mayita on the other hand, flies down by herself. I clutch my pearls at what she'll do next.

At this age, you couldn’t coax B on a sled. Mayita on the other hand, flies down by herself. I clutch my pearls at what she’ll do next.

But, I'm happy to say that B was just fine on his own sled. :)

But, I’m happy to say that B was just fine on his own sled. 🙂

Wednesday was a two hour delay which screwed up class schedules and bus routes. So he finally righted himself back up on, you guessed it, Friday.  Just in time for the weekend!

I took one of our cars in for maintenance work this week. It’s an older model car but we have taken great care of it. Nevertheless, I was quoted a hefty fee for some other work that may be needed.  We haven’t decided yet what to do but at least it passed inspection which was the important thing.

Every time I feel like I’m catching up, something else always gets in the way. I worry that this will never end and I’ll be stuck in a never ending loop of missed deadlines and forgotten holidays. Needless to say I have yet to begin any shopping for Christmas.

Thank goodness for Amazon Prime.

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Family, Life, Love, Mayita, Mayor Bee, Ramblings, School, Siblings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

