Shake Up At The Doctor.

Recently, we trekked out of our “comfort zone” in LoCo and traversed the Beltway to B’s developmental pediatrician appointment. We go twice a year – in June and December – like clockwork.

First off, I am flabbergasted how much B has grown. At his height/weight measurement, he was almost 4′ tall and just shy over 50 lbs. He did really well with the automatic blood pressure cuff – those things can really annoy him. I can relate – the increasing tightness around my arm can send me into an anxiety attack.

Hanging out in the waiting room with our favorite blocks.

Hanging out in the waiting room with our favorite blocks.

"It's just getting a big giant TIGHT hug."

“It’s just getting a big giant TIGHT hug.”

Afterwards, we got to meet with his doctor. The doc was impressed by his motor skills – we have dealt with “loose muscle tone” for the past few years. He was able to perform what she asked him to do with little prompting. She was able to observe him doing work at the table and was amazed at his penmanship.

As an aside – we’ve been giving him reams of paper to doodle, draw, write whatever in order to keep him occupied. The teachers at his AfterK program do it too as a way to distract and redirect.

I gave her all the stuff I collected over the past six months. I updated her on his transition into mainstream Kindergarten and the behavioral challenges we’ve been facing. She didn’t seem fazed even as he talked back to me in the room about something I directly asked him. I’m not sure if it’s because that’s normal or if she was further analyzing his reactions.

All in all it seemed fine – a basic checkup on his developmental growth. In one sense he has again made amazing progress, she said. The work we have done has paid off and it sounds like on the academic side he is very smart. She suggested looking back into social groups (which on the weekends is difficult) because I was concerned with his regression on social cues.

Then came the unfortunate news – she was leaving Children’s. She is moving and will open her own private part-time practice. She’s leaving at the end of the year. Her practice is not up and running yet, so there’s no way to know if our insurance will cover if we decide to switch.

There are other developmental pediatricians at Children’s, of course, and as standard procedure I scheduled his appointment for next June with a different doctor. Because, as you know, if I don’t do it now, who knows when I will get another appointment.

She did say that there was a developmental pediatrician near me but we would have to be part of that general practice. That would mean leaving his other pediatrician which I don’t think we can do.

I was saddened to hear this in one way – this was our routine and practice. B seemed to engage with this doctor for the past 3 1/2 years and it will be a tough choice what to do next.

But I suppose we just have to wait and see.

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Autism, Life, Mayor Bee, Ramblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

