Break My Stride? Never!

Today I had the strangest flashback.

I got into my car to meet a dear friend for lunch and turned on the radio. And, like, MY SONG came on.

Do you ever get excited when one of your favorite songs comes on the radio? Well that’s what happened. Even better – it was AT THE BEGINNING of the song so there wasn’t any missed parts.

It was like Christmas/Birthday/Anniversary rolled into one gift – pure joy.

So, behold this forgotten oldie from the 80’s, which is also one of my most favoritest songs ever.  I even pulled this clip from one of my favorite childhood shows, “Solid Gold” (hence all the cheesetastical dancers and Marilyn McCoo).

It’s funny how a certain song can take you back to a different time. A time in life when all I yearned for was a good beat and some synthesized keyboards. 😉

However, today I realized that the chorus was quite pertinent as well, given my life situation at hand:

“Ain’t nothin’ gonna to break my stride
Nobody’s gonna slow me down, oh-no
I got to keep on movin’
Ain’t nothin’ gonna break my stride
I’m running and I won’t touch ground
Oh-no, I got to keep on movin'”

– Matthew Wilder, ”Break My Stride”, I Don’t Speak The Language, Private-I Records, 1983

That’s exactly what I’m doing now. Every day I get up and keep moving. Because, somehow, some way, we all get through whatever challenge faces us. Whether it’s autism, my dad, or just life in general – you have to keep moving.

When life keeps throwing detours, at least I’m still grooving along to synthesized pop. 🙂

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Life, Ramblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Break My Stride? Never!

  1. Vickie says:

    Thank you for putting that song in my head for the rest of the day 🙂
    I guess a theme songs go…. That’s up there with St Elmo’s Fire or the Eye of the Tiger!
    Seriously, glad it helped make you feel better.

    Like

Leave a Reply

