Another Year, Another IEP Update.

20140414_205800It’s that time of year again! Time to meet with the school regarding B and his IEP. This year is a little easier because we didn’t have to go through reassessment. That was the good part.

The not-so-good part is that I wasn’t notified in a timely manner from the Cross-Cat teacher. On a Monday evening, I received an e-mail from his teacher to have a meeting. She gave me three dates that week In fact, his IEP was due…oh…that next week.

This makes sense, as Husband recently asked me why he has a hold in his calendar with the school. I hadn’t a clue, so he deleted. Turns out we actually had planned out when we thought we were to meet with the school…the school just notified us a bit late.

Gah. Already, I am annoyed. I know, technically I could have been a real…well a you-know-what because of the lack of written notice, but I’m feeling kind. Besides, the winter was not kind on the teachers and staff either.

So I get the draft and quickly skim it for review. Overall, everything pretty much is still in place. At the IEP meeting I sat around with his Kindergarten teacher, the Cross Cat teacher, the AP, and the OT.  It was very cozy in the AP’s office. 🙂

We discussed his recent issues and obsessions to try and see how he processes information. I emphasized some of the challenges we still face – especially on handling his emotions. B gets frustrated so easily and especially if it’s a long activity or it’s something he doesn’t want to do. Transitions still give him pause, and when there is a change – just watch out!

What I’m most concerned about, however, is the transition to first grade. It’s a whole new ball game when you hit first grade. There are real desks, though that might be good because he’ll have “his” space. But there’s lunchtime – the sensory noises of the cafeteria can be an issue. Or the more time spent of the school model “Pathways” which is concentrated on reading and writing. If B is not interested in group work or concentrating…good luck.

So, we drafted some new goals, with my disclaimer that once the school year gets started – it might have to be adjusted. I made sure OT services remain because those are so important. All the other accommodations (movement breaks, visual schedule, etc.) stay and I added small group testing to his long list.

All in all, not too bad. However, I hold the right to rescind that thought once next year starts!

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Autism, IEP, Life, Mayor Bee, Occupational Therapy, School, Technology and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Another Year, Another IEP Update.

  1. Lisa says:

    Does he get social work? Tate sees the social worker to help identify and label and discuss emotions and strategies. He also gets several social stories that help. Just curious about how it is handled elsewhere.

    Sounds like a good plan is in place. I hope the move to 1st grade goes well. I was nervous back when Tate made the transition, and it ended up being quite a bit more smooth than I had anticipated!

    Like

    • OneLoCoMommy says:

      One thing that will help in first grade is a social skills group that they will put him in. The guidance counselor handles the group. This is in addition to the social stories that he gets so hopefully that will help!

      Like

  2. Pingback: The Top Twelve (Er, Ten) of 2014. | One LoCo Mommy

Leave a Reply

