One Year.



Yesterday was the one year anniversary that we said goodbye to Jackpot.

(Related post: Letting Go)

There have been some difficult moments – like going to the beach and not having him dive into the waves.  It’s been odd going on trips and actually going into restaurants to eat versus eating in the parking lot of McDonald’s.

And the bed sure is different without the “rug with fur” (as I called him) laying between Husband and me.

Personally, this event kind of put the wheels in motion of the rest of the difficult year I faced. Because after the loss of Jackpot – there was Mayita’s MRSA crisis, then of course Dad’s cancer diagnosis. There are days when I feel I still pick up the pieces that crumbled from the past 12 months.

B and Mayita have done ok without Jackpot. B has swung between sadness and simply factual about our dog’s death. As for Mayita – there was a time that she was not ok with other dogs. However, she has since gotten better with the neighborhood dogs so that is a great sign.

While I don’t want to put words in his mouth, I know Husband has been deeply affected by Jackpot’s passing. It’s hard not to – especially as we constantly find some momento, photo, or toy in the house.

We will never ever forget his massive smile and crazy energy. We called it his “Terrier Tendencies”. He never failed to make people smile with his stubby tail and loving personality. Nothing can replace him.

But – here’s a big BUT – I think we are ready again to open our hearts and home to another rescue. We always knew we would adopt again – but I had to be sure that it’s the right time, the right reason and the right dog. When this happens I don’t know but at least we are moving forward.

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Family, Life, Ramblings, The Lows and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One Year.

  1. Kristen says:

    A year after we lost our beloved beagle Gilligan, we adopted. A cat. (to go along with our remaining dog, Charlie, that we adopted who sat at Gilligan’s grave after we buried him for 24 hours making strange noises we had never heard before) Because I have a little boy who pestered his father incessantly for a cat. An orange boy cat. And now we have Oliver almost a year. My husband was not a cat person, now he is in love with the cat. It behaves very similar to Gilligan. He also doesn’t behave entirely like a cat. Like he comes when we call him. He comforts children and adults who are unhappy. I cannot believe how it has helped. And I NEVER would have imagined owning a cat but the right cat found us! Fingers crossed, the right dog will find you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

