Happy Birthday Mayita!

So right before Easter, Mayita turned three years old.

It is clearly evident that the “Terrible Threes” will easily be worse than those “Terrible Twos” that others talk about. The diva-tastical behavior has reached new levels in the past few weeks. Most times, it’s amusing because we know that this is neurotypical behavior for her. At this age, we were going through the process to transition B into Part B services (Childfind) and already has his diagnosis…so, it’s different.

I hate to compare my children on this level, but Mayita is much more communicative at this stage. She not only watches B but also has developed in her own right. AND she is pretty much potty trained now. She still has a diaper at night and may poop the pants but if you struggled with potty training, you know it is like night and day.

Anyway, we spent her birthday at Grandma’s house for Easter. Her aunt (my sister) share the same birthday so it was nice to celebrate together.

 

Mayita shares her birthday with her Aunt!

Mayita shares her birthday with her Aunt!

Also – it was a bittersweet reunion as this is yet another holiday without Dad. Dad got a kick out of Easter – hiding the eggs, teasing us about the Bunny, and of course going to Church.

So on Sunday we filled the tiny church and worshipped in memory of Dad. I think he would have been proud. Afterwards we did the egg hunt on the farm for the kids, just like I did when I was young. Watching them running and squealing was wonderful to hear. I know Mom loved having us all there to be with her.

Easter Egg hunting, like in the old days.

Easter Egg hunting, like in the old days.

I didn’t realize until driving home that Easter was exactly four months from Dad’s passing. Coincidence? Sure but kind of freaky!

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Family, Life, Love, Mayita, Mayor Bee, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Birthday Mayita!

  1. Pingback: The Top Twelve (Er, Ten) of 2014. | One LoCo Mommy

Leave a Reply

