Kindergarten Field Trip to Great Country Farms!

20140522_091626

B and me on the school bus!

Yesterday I got to experience a pleasure few sign up for.

Chaperoning a field trip, that is.

B’s Kindergarten class went to a local farm (Great Country Farms) for their annual field trip. Well, his class plus the other Kindergarten classes at the elementary school. I say this because Loudoun STILL won’t go to a full-day Kindergarten schedule but I digress. This amounts to about 100 kids running around in an open area with shrieks that reach new volume levels.

Kidding. Kind of.

To chaperone is an honor, as I hear from other parents. The teachers send home the form to sign up before Spring Break. I guess there is a lottery that picks out 5 or 6 parents from each class to attend. If you are selected you get a special note and all that fun stuff.

Personally, I think when B’s teacher saw my name on the form I was immediately chosen, because that meant I would be in charge of B (and not necessarily them). ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyway, like I said, I was given B plus two other little girls to watch over. I got a special bag to carry their lunch and water bottles and whatnot. I had to bring a backpack and haul an emergency kit plus my own lunch. My duties were to keep track of them and for goodness sake make sure we all make it back to the bus.

It already started out with a bang when who should be pulling up to take his class was Mr. Bill, B’s bus driver. Oh, he was so excited! He had to sit in “his spot” so I was riding in the “cool” front seat of the bus. ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyway, at the farm, they split the massive group into two smaller groups.

We got to go on a wagon ride…20140522_103005 20140522_103632

Then learned about butterflies…20140522_104629

Talked about strawberries…20140522_105946

Played with a sluice…20140522_113628

Fed the animals…20140522_114936

And of course play on the big bouncy pillow the farm has (which I think many kids thought was the best part of the trip)…20140522_122326

B did pretty well on the trip, in spite of it all. Of course, he LOVED having me there. He did okay with the large amount of kids on the trip. It was warm that day so he complained about being too warm. He also darted off a couple of times which freaked me out since I was watching two other kids. He spilled his animal food so he didn’t really get to feed too many animals. He became fixated on the sluice and wanted to push sticks down it.

I kind of wished I had the planned items for the tour upfront so I could transition him better. However, I look upon this as learning experience for me in the future. ๐Ÿ™‚

Happy to say that I got everyone back to the bus, on time no less. I even managed not to get sick (as I’m prone to motion sickness when I’m not driving).

Score one for mommy!

 

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Kindergarten, Life, Loudoun Local, Mayor Bee, Ramblings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kindergarten Field Trip to Great Country Farms!

  1. What a wonderful day! My son’s field trip will be in a few weeks. I will likely be one of the volunteers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

