Adaptive Karate – Big News!

So yesterday I took B to karate, since he didn’t have a T-ball game. For the past few weeks his T-ball games coincide with karate. I carefully prepared him for the change of schedule so the fact that the studio was having karate on a holiday weekend was a wonderful surprise.

Even more surprises happened when I got there. First, the studio will showcase the class at its upcoming event. The kids will perform one of the katas that they have learned (over the past two years but who’s counting, lol).

Then I found out that B will get his own gi. Hot damn, that is cool. Now he will look like all the other kids that come into the dojo.

I mean, come on, what else can happen?

The Senseis announced that there is a ceremony. Real informal, but B was promoted (or passed, not sure how that goes) to 10th kyū. Which means…he’s now an Orange Belt.

Ceremony

Ceremony

Holy frickin’ yeah.

So I take him to the locker room to try on the gi and belt. Of course Sensei K had to help me since I’m such an idiot about how to tie the belt on. But he looks pretty darn sharp.

Husband says he looks like Royce Gracie.

Husband says he looks like Royce Gracie.

After all this excitement, the kids went through their kata practice. I was so impressed that even after missing multiple weeks, he was pretty spot on with his moves. I taped it on the camera so he can practice. I can’t wait to see him show off in a couple of weeks!

20140524_102640

Smooth moves – kiyah!

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Autism, Life, Loudoun Local, Magic Moments, Mayor Bee, Ramblings, Special Needs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Adaptive Karate – Big News!

  1. Vickie says:

    Fantastic!!!!!!

    Like

  2. Congratulations! That’s awesome!

    Like

  3. Heather says:

    Congrats! My name is Heather and I was wondering if you would be willing to answer a question about your blog! My email is Lifesabanquet1(at)gmail(dot)com 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

