Ready Or Not – First Grade Here B Comes.

I mockingly joked on my FB page that Friday was the autism trifecta:

A. Last Day of School

B. Friday the 13th, and

C. A full moon.

With that in mind I sent B off to his last day of Kindergarten.

Last bus pickup of the year!

Last bus pickup of the year!

 

If you're happy and you know, flap your hands!

If you’re happy and you know, flap your hands!

20140613_073042Also this morning I spoke to his Resource (or Cross-Cat) teacher. She gave me the update on his BIP and just wanted to let me know what a joy he is. She said that he made significant progress over the year and he has improved in do many aspects. He successfully got himself back into mainstream (both for Kindergarten and aftercare). Obviously, it was not without a lot of struggle and frustration. But he came through!

Then, I got a call from the Room Mom. I know her – but not too well. Pleasant lady though. She left me a message that B told her she was a great Room Mom and thanked her at the end of the year party for the cool stuff. She was really touched from his gesture – I have a feeling few are not as tuned as B to those things.

Finally, another mom sent me a picture of B with a couple other boys from the party. One is a boy that lives a few houses down, one plays on the same Tball team, and another boy. When I look at that picture, I don’t see B’s challenges swimming in the NT world. I see a boy, smiling with his classmates, sharing in a moment.

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Autism, Life, Love, Magic Moments, Mayor Bee, School and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ready Or Not – First Grade Here B Comes.

  1. Pingback: The Top Twelve (Er, Ten) of 2014. | One LoCo Mommy

Leave a Reply

