RIP Paulie.

I’ve written last year about the wandering epidemic and the risk of drowning by those on the spectrum.

And now it has hit too close to home for me.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/local/loudoun-boy-6-is-one-of-3-children-in-region-dead-in-apparent-drownings-over-the-weekend/2014/06/16/efe7b3d2-f580-11e3-a606-946fd632f9f1_story.html

On Friday, the last day of school, B’s former after-school program held a party. It was supposed to be a pool party to celebrate the end of the school year.

One little boy wandered off while they were getting ready. The adults realized he was gone – by the time they found him he was in the pool. First responders were called but it was too late. The little boy was pronounced dead at the hospital.

Another angelic life lost through a senseless and tragic accident.

Though B didn’t go to this program this year, I’m still part of the community. I found out on Saturday night through a fellow mom. The boys that were at that party had to witness the paramedics, the ambulance, the panicked looks. I know that they are traumatized.

Today, media reports have started to come out. Besides the local media, it did make the Washington Post – along with two other drownings in the area.

I know that little boy and his mother and I’m heartbroken. We always try our best to keep close watch on our children – but no one expected this. What a tragedy – and something we as a community have to work to prevent in the future.

I’m still in shock. I keep looking at the pictures on a FB page and I’m distraught by even imagining losing my B. I cannot fathom what the little boy’s parents are going through.

In just a blink of an eye – your life can change forever.

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Autism, Autism Awareness, Life, Special Needs, The Lows and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

