Ain’t Got No Time For That (AKA: Why The Blog Is Quiet)

“Life is what happens while you are busy making other plans.” – John Lennon

I did not plan to take a break from the blog. But sometimes, that’s what happens when life happens.

In May I accepted a new job in which I gained a bit longer commute and the inability to e-mail any drafts I work on during lunch (silly workplace blocks). I really enjoy the job though which is important and the people are great. Having an onsite cafeteria with free coffee is a nice touch.

We rescued a new dog. His name is Curtis and he’s a beagle. OH boy is he a beagle. 🙂 He is awesome around the kids but needs work on things like…oh, not peeing in the house. Or walking on a lead.  Or not destroying blinds/gates/crates, etc. Sigh.

This is Curtis, the newest member of the family.

This is Curtis, the newest member of the family.

In May I also got my gallbladder removed. Apparently I had six gallstones of various sizes lodged in my gallbladder. No wonder I was in pain and cranky. Feeling much better now.

Before I started my new job I traveled to Pennsylvania to bury my dad’s ashes. My mom then decided she will move in with us after Thanksgiving. She did not want to stay at the farm for one more winter which I cannot disagree with. There’s been a lot of work transferring assets and accounts & getting her to discard things that she just doesn’t need.

June marked the end of Kindergarten. We started a new routine  – taking B back to Paxton for summer camp. The change causes me to get home later in the day – triggering a rush to make dinner, baths, etc. I’m so exhausted in the evenings the best I manage is a little TV and Candy Crush.

June also marked 10 years of my mom’s kidney transplant (yay!) and 6 months of my father’s death (obviously not yay). I hate that he’s not here to see the kids grow up. Every once in a while there will be a gentleman that will remind me of Dad and my heart hurts again.

My aunt (mom’s sister) is now failing in health so my mom traveled to Texas for two weeks to help out. She is in renal failure – she has similar kidney issues as my mom. Miraculously she is still kicking but sadly  it’s only a matter of time.

June also marked a tragic event when our local autism community mourned the death of a little boy, Paulie. My heart hurt so much for his family and really brought home losing your child could be. My mom’s move date was bumped to the end of August so that she will now get B from the bus.

July marked a well deserved break in Vegas for Husband and me. However, M also developed Hand Foot & Mouth right before we left (evidenced by the blisters that showed up when I called my mom when we got to the hotel). Poor mom dealt with B on break from school and M’s painful mouth sores.

We signed B up for developmental flag football. He’s had a couple of practices and it will be interesting to see what happens. M might end up in gymnastics, given how many times she gives me a heart attack climbing and swinging over things.

My older sister has now made it onto the kidney transplant list. I hate having the genetic markers for kidney disease.

Now we are at the beach “enjoying” vacation (as well as you can I suppose). We participated again in Surfers Healing a few days ago. As you know, this vacation isn’t for parents as we are playing referee, chauffeur, chef, housekeeper, etc. – albeit with a nicer view.

Copyright Thirty Three Photography - B with his surfer Kalani Brown (2014)

Copyright Thirty Three Photography – B with his surfer Kalani Brown (2014)

After we get back that’s when the big rush before school starts. B will be a first grader – full day school for him now. B now seems to struggle with anxiety on top of everything else going on. Sadly that is something I am expert on but adds a challenge when two anxious people have to work through it.

I hope to get back on a routine. However, judging by the fact that it took me almost a week to write this (between wrangling kids and driving) who knows?

 

 

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Family, Fun in the Sun, Life, Love, Magic Moments, Mayita, Mayor Bee, Ramblings, Siblings, Special Needs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ain’t Got No Time For That (AKA: Why The Blog Is Quiet)

  1. You certainly do have a lot going on – Yay for hte good stuff and boo for the not. Whenever you can find the time and energy to write, I’ll be here reading and cheering and commiserating 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

