Never Will Forget You – Tribute to Avonte Oquendo

Taking it a Step at a Time

Avonte Never Forget

RecentlyI had theimmense privilegeand honortolisten tothe beautiful and heartbreaking song written in memory of Avonte Oquendo, by his uncle, Rocopera. Even over the telephone,it was apparentthat thelove he has for this child is immeasurable. The pain of this loss will never be healed.

“This song comes from a broken heart”

His heart IS broken – all of our hearts are broken. What happened to this beautiful child should never have happened.What happenedis every parents’ nightmare. Those of usthat havechildren with special needs know this fear all too well. We know that simple things like just puttingyour childon a school bus and sendinghim offto school can be terrifying. They are not with us, we are not in control, we are not there toprotect and take care of them. As the mother of an adult child with autism, I know this fear. I live this fear. – We all live this fear.

View original post 341 more words

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

