One Week Down…Gazillion More To Go.

School

(Picture posted above is B in front of our house. He’s holding a sign that says, “First Day of School September 2, 2014”. He is wearing a bright red Rabbids Invasion shirt that his grandma got him)

The mantra is, “So far, so good” for the past week of school.

Ok, so it was a four day week due to the Labor Day Holiday. And on Thursday I got my first call from the teacher. Yes, within two days. It wasn’t “bad” but the conversation kinda went like this:

First – I need to remember to pack his headphones so the noise from the fire alarm won’t send him into a panic.

Second, while he was absolutely right in telling the teacher that “peeing wrong on the toilet” is a great example of David potentially not following the rules, it is still inappropriate.

To be fair, the teacher thought it was hilarious and really had to keep her composure.

Anyway, B has really adjusted to the class. It is a small classroom, with small groups. He sits next to a little boy that also has special needs (and was also in the same Kindergarten class). I have met his new Resource Teacher and she was definitely briefed on him before school started.

Things this year have definitely started on the right foot. He knows the school, he knows the aides and staff, and is definitely having fun. He likes all the “extra” classes like PE, library, art, music. He has memorized his Student ID so he can order his lunch and login to the computer. I know we like that he’s there for the full day now versus the constant switching between facilities.

Not only that, I have taken a more active role this year. I am now the Special Education Advisory Chairwoman for the school. I will be going to meetings and be a new face in the special needs community. I’m not entirely sure what I’ve gotten myself into, and Lord knows I don’t need anything else going on, but I felt like I needed to do it.

My mom has “officially” moved down here so B comes home after school. That helps immensely – not only with working schedules, but now B has some downtime. He can play with his collections or the iPad without “little sister syndrome”.

Speaking of little sister, Mayita is still in her preschool class, and she is giving them a run for their money. She has definitely hit her stride in the “Terrible Threes” (or “Threenager” as I’ve been calling her). She’s defiant, pushy, loud and whiny. She will take on any boy in that class. Of course, she’s independent, strong and cute too. 🙂

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Daycare, IEP, Life, Love, Mayita, Mayor Bee, Ramblings, School, Siblings, Special Needs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One Week Down…Gazillion More To Go.

  1. Lisa says:

    Oh, the “threenager”. Cole was so similar!! Glad that the first week went well. Hope this bodes well for the new school year!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

