Why I Will Always Worry About High School.

I’m high strung by nature,  but there is a reason why I will never stop worrying.

You want your child to succeed.  Maybe they want to play a sport, maybe have friends,  date,  etc.

Then you read a bullying article and you want to crawl into a safety bubble.

In this case,  a high school student was duct taped to a goal post.  This was done by fellow team members of his soccer team. He was left by himself until an off duty officer find him.

The boy is autistic.  While I can’t speak for him,  I can relate to what his mother said – “he was terrified, he could have died,  he could have had a heart attack from being so stressed out, he was screaming at the top of his lungs.”

Sounds like big fun,  that ritual.

I have read tweets from a former student and others that defend it.defend their actions or those that bullied,  saying that “that’s the way it’s always been” or “I got through it they should too.”

image

Newsflash Einstein – people may not function like you. Just because you did doesn’t mean someone else should too. If I may show my age as a mom, “if everyone jumped off the Brooklyn Bridge, would you do that too?”

In the case of an autistic child, reading social cues is a major challenge.  It’s exhausting and simply frustrating to have to keep sifting through typical socialness.

So yeah someone may not understand the full impact of your “ritual”. Quite honestly I’m not sure how taping anyone to a pair accomplishes athletic skills.

The icing on the cake is that there are comments made that the boy is a “snitch”. Or the written attacks on Facebook. Or the fact that students actually made signs for a recent game that supports the alleged bullies. Just guessing but he is probably getting dirty looks in the hallway or verbal insults in the cafeteria.

Seriously.  Think about who is supporting who in this incident.

By the way,  they may be “kids” but at 17 I knew the difference between right and wrong. This is not a playground dust up over swings.

And it’s not just the kids.  Where are the adults?  I presume that there parental units involved with upbringing.  Who teaches kids?  Adults. Again,  the excuse “well I got through it” is trite and full of doo-doo. You knew it sucked then,  why are you letting it happen again?

And where is the coach? The methodological steps of this “ritual” means is most likely happened before.  Whether the coach explicitly turned the other way is another story. If he knew about and said nothing then he is involved too.

Bullying is bullying. Hazing is wrong. Doesn’t matter the reason. Doesn’t matter who. Stop, listen and say something.

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Autism, Autism Awareness, Life, Ramblings, School, Special Needs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Why I Will Always Worry About High School.

  1. Stories like this make me sick. People are unbelievable.

    Like

  2. I’m right there with you on the “high strung” ladder – always have been. Nothing was worse than sending DC off to high school. (Middle school was no picnic either). I can came up with the worse case scenario in any situation – fortunately he didn’t have many problems in school, but the fear was there – all of the time. It still is.

    Like

  3. Reading this has me so riled up that if that were my son, I’d have the kids who did this to him arrested for assault. Absolutely unforgivable. I know how easily my son is traumatized, and he’s not even on the spectrum; but is extremely sensitive and has anxiety.

    Like

Leave a Reply

