Thankful.

It’s been a while.

Honestly, I haven’t been able to bring myself back to the blog. I mean, life hasn’t stopped. In fact, it sped up. We’ve been very busy. That’s good, since that’s how it should be. I’m thankful for that.

On the other hand, I’m so tired from running here, there and everywhere. I got lazy. I lost all track of scheduling and posting. I just got tired of it all.

Anywho.

B finished his first season of flag football. Now that was an experience. Group activities are hard for him. Many of you can relate to that. Either he gets frustrated, or bored, or tired, or angry, or whatever emotion you can come up with. His attention span made it tricky to pay attention to the coach, to learn and run plays, to be patient along the sidelines. He had some lousy behavior at games and he wanted to quit. As much (possibly unnecessary) pain and frustration it caused us, we made him stick it out. Mind you, practices started in August with games AND practices through September and October.

Of course his jersey was 13.

We learned he was not the fastest and he didn’t catch well. However he could block. And he loved to punt and kick. Unfortunately it was flag football so blocking is not really a skill to cheer on. Also, you don’t punt or kick field goals in flag football. But he did a fine job playing center.

We still cheered him on. He made it. We made it, rather. He got a trophy and medal to add to his collection.
FF

Meanwhile, M started her own activity. She started gymnastics in September. It’s perfect for her – running, jumping, tumbling. She’s one of the youngest in the group class but she is one tough cookie. She loves wearing her “uniform” to class. She has fun, and I don’t have to go into the gym with her. Win-Win!
Gymnastics

We had a rough stretch at school in October with B. Once the “newness” of school died down, he started testing boundaries. He had some incidents that he spent some quality time in the principal’s office. He has gotten smart enough to use disturbing language to get attention, even in a negative way. There are times that all he will do is debate with me to get his way. There were some epic meltdowns that hurt me to the core. I held on tight to the roller coaster. I think we got over one hump but the stress of knowing more can come (especially with the holidays) makes me groan.

Halloween came and went. B was a Ninja Turtle and M was, of course, Elsa. They enjoyed themselves immensely grabbing as much candy as possible. We still have a large amount of candy in our house that I have to figure out what to do with!
Halloween

Mom is adjusting to life here. It’s a bit busier here than at the farm. She likes having her space (and a TV with her own cable box) so she can watch her shows. We got her tablet fixed so she can play her Candy Crush, and I set up WiFi so she can stream news from “back home”. Oh and e-mail – she’s back up with Gmail. She’s still not on Facebook though.

As for me – well, my thyroid has decided to go wonky. My energy levels have plummeted, but yet my sleep schedule is messed up. I’m tired all the time and I’m cold. Now I have a real endocrinologist who has prodded me and tweaked my medicine. Oh and take blood. I hate getting my blood drawn! After two visits, we are still not on even ground. Like everything else, it’s a process, a slow one at that.

Today is Thanksgiving and I know I have so much to be thankful for. However, it’s a bittersweet reminder that Dad is no longer here. I have now gone through one year of holidays without him. No phone call, no visit. Certainly no more coming in and out of the house, smelling of cigarette smoke. I imagine it will a difficult few weeks as now I’m heading into another anniversary.

So, there you have it. Kinda. Sorta. Not really. But we’re all here!

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Family, Life, Ramblings, Siblings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Thankful.

  1. Hope you had a Happy Thanksgiving.

    Like

  2. Our fall has been a rollercoaster as well, with regards to school. My son’s biggest issue lately has been his anxiety. We are on the wait list for a highly recommended psychologist, but it might be January before he’ll be free to take Little Man on. Hang in there! Glad your kids will do activities outside of school. Mine won’t. Hope you had a happy Thanksgiving.

    Like

  3. Keep on keeping on. That’s what I’m doing. Taking the good with the bad. And the hard with the happy.

    Like

  4. Pingback: The Top Twelve (Er, Ten) of 2014. | One LoCo Mommy

Leave a Reply

