The Twelve Days of Christmas (Autism Style)

As told by me – with a bit of truth and a whole lot of humor. 🙂

On the first day of Christmas autism gave to me…
A fixation with the Christmas tree.

On the second day of Christmas autism gave to me…
Meltdowns in the mall,
And a fixation with the Christmas tree.

On the third day of Christmas autism gave to me…
Three hours of lines,
Meltdowns in the mall,
And a fixation with the Christmas tree.

On the fourth day of Christmas autism gave to me…
Changing daily routines,
Three hours of lines,
Meltdowns in the mall,
And a fixation with the Christmas tree.

On the fifth day of Christmas autism gave to me…
Five social stories!
Changing daily routines,
Three hours of lines,
Meltdowns in the mall,
And a fixation with the Christmas tree.

On the sixth day of Christmas autism gave to me…
Six jumping outbursts,
Five social stories!
Changing daily routines,
Three hours of lines,
Meltdowns in the mall,
And a fixation with the Christmas tree.

On the seventh day of Christmas autism gave to me…
Noise canceling headphones,
Six jumping outbursts,
Five social stories!
Changing daily routines,
Three hours of lines,
Meltdowns in the mall,
And a fixation with the Christmas tree.

On the eighth day of Christmas autism gave to me…
Aggressive kicking moments,
Noise canceling headphones,
Six jumping outbursts,
Five social stories!
Changing daily routines,
Three hours of lines,
Meltdowns in the mall,
And a fixation with the Christmas tree.

On the ninth day of Christmas autism gave to me…
Nine visual schedules,
Aggressive kicking moments,
Noise canceling headphones,
Six jumping outbursts,
Five social stories!
Changing daily routines,
Three hours of lines,
Meltdowns in the mall,
And a fixation with the Christmas tree.

On the tenth day of Christmas autism gave to me…
Overwhelming family gatherings,
Nine visual schedules,
Aggressive kicking moments,
Noise canceling headphones,
Six jumping outbursts,
Five social stories!
Changing daily routines,
Three hours of lines,
Meltdowns in the mall,
And a fixation with the Christmas tree.

On the eleventh day of Christmas autism gave to me…
Eleven lists for Santa,
Overwhelming family gatherings,
Nine visual schedules,
Aggressive kicking moments,
Noise canceling headphones,
Six jumping outbursts,
Five social stories!
Changing daily routines,
Three hours of lines,
Meltdowns in the mall,
And a fixation with the Christmas tree.

On the twelve day of Christmas autism gave to me…
Everlasting love,
Eleven lists for Santa,
Crazy family gatherings,
Nine visual schedules,
Aggressive kicking moments,
Noise canceling headphones,
Six jumping outbursts,
Five social stories!
Changing daily routines,
Three hours of lines,
Meltdowns in the mall,
And a fixation with the Christmas tree.

By the way, did you know that the 2014 price tag for the “real” Twelve Days of Christmas is just over $116K? Yep. 

Happy Holidays and may your change to routine be bright!

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Twelve Days of Christmas (Autism Style)

  1. Pingback: The Top Twelve (Er, Ten) of 2014. | One LoCo Mommy

Leave a Reply

