The Guest Who Stayed Too Long.

Christmas has come and gone, and the New Year is already here.

Yet one guest has not left our house.

The Elf. Rather, the second Elf on the Shelf.

This year, we *finally* broke down (read: B chattered on and on and on about the dang Elf) and got the family an Elf. B named it Samsee and Mom & Dad had a grand ole time trying to keep track of where Samsee went. Or where he should go. Luckily Samsee was a laid back Elf who didn’t care about elaborate scenes of naughtiness; he just liked to move to interesting spots. Like the various ceiling fans of our house.

Elf

Then Christmas came and went – Samsee left a letter saying he had to “leave” with Santa and he’ll see him next year. Well, B was having none of that. The past few days was spent Googling images of elves to print out. B created quite the collection of paper elves around the house. He even was nice enough to have Mommy print a few for M, heh.

I had to go to Bed, Bath & Beyond for a quick trip, and decided B could do with getting some fresh air. That was my downfall, because the first thing B saw when we got into the store was…

Christmas Clearance!

And, you guessed it – various elves that “needed good homes” according to B. So, we adopted another Elf. B came up with the name again (and I’m gonna mangle it) – Cameolia. Yeah, I don’t know either, just going with the flow.

The new Elf has come home and B somehow convinced Husband that he needs a house (to party) and a bed (to sleep). I finally caved and found some stale marshmallows so the new Elf can take a “bath”. And we have to be super careful about touching the Elf, you know.

I’ve already tried explaining the whole story behind the Elf but B was having none of that. How can we not rescue the elves, he asked. We rescued our dogs. Kid, once again, has a valid point.

So now we have a house guest on an extended stay. I hope we don’t find him like Husband found Perry the Platypus last month – in the oven of the play kitchen.

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Autism, Family, Fixations, Life, Mayor Bee and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Guest Who Stayed Too Long.

  1. Your last sentence was so unexpected by I laughed out loud at the vision of Perry! ha ha ha

    Like

    • OneLoCoMommy says:

      Yeah, he loves his Perry the Platypus – but we couldn’t find him for a couple of weeks. We turned this house upside down looking for him.

      Out of the blue, Husband comes up from the basement one day carrying Perry. Sure enough, he was in the oven of the play kitchen. I’m not sure how I feel about that! lol

      Liked by 1 person

  2. normaleverydaylifeblog says:

    Oh no! I hope the Elf loses his magical qualities quickly and you can send him on his way again soon! #saturdaysharefest

    Like

Leave a Reply

