Back to School…Soon!

Today was the last “school” day off for B. Two entire weeks on break.

This is how I break down just one of our weeks:

2:30 AM on December 20th (Saturday): B wakes me up to kindly inform me that he vomited in his bed. Following a visit to the bathroom where more vomit ensued, I got him back to sleep. I then started the first of many “sanitary” cycles on the washing machine.

Later that day my sisters and nephew arrive for a visit. The timing was bittersweet as it was exactly the one year anniversary of our Dad’s death. However, even with B’s moans of illness agony, we managed to have a good one day visit. We drove to see our aunt, who at 81 is my Dad’s oldest sister. She’s still spunky even if she is currently living in the nursing home she owns. It does have its privileges, she informed me. 😉

Visit1

We exchanged presents and ordered Chinese that night in memory of Dad. On the way home from the takeout place, I almost hit three deer crossing the road. Being that Dad loved to hunt, I’m only hoping this was not an omen.

December 21st (Sunday): Sisters get to watch their niece in gymnastics. Of course, M has to ham it up and somehow gets a boo-boo on her finger. I have to say goodbye to them – it was a short yet efficient trip.

Visit

December 22nd (Monday): B is still so-so, but now I don’t feel so good. After dinner, I knew I caught the bug. It wasn’t pretty. I’ll spare you the details, with exception that I love Canada Dry Ginger Ale, club crackers, and Jolly Rancher popscicles.

December 23rd (Tuesday): Now M doesn’t feel good, so I keep her home from daycare. Husband is off from work and informs me that M was running a fever. I personally feel like I ran a marathon (leg soreness) and my tummy was, well, not good. I still reported to work a half day before shutting down and driving home in a foggy daze. I stay the rest of the afternoon and evening on the couch, zoning in and out of the kids jumping on me.

Christmas Eve (Wednesday): I had already scheduled to work from home, so at least I was in pajamas and no one could see my tired ass self. Both kids were home (since M had a fever I couldn’t send her back) and the crappy rainy weather certainly didn’t help any of our moods. That night we got the call that my Aunt Reba in Texas died, so that stuck another dagger on why December is a crappy month.

Christmas Day (Thursday): At 12:30 AM Curtis starts to heave and retch. After 2 hours at the animal ER, I leave Curtis to recover and clutch my pearls over the bill. The dog was essentially filled to the brim with gas – they would have to sedate and aspirate the air out of his stomach and intestines. We still to this day don’t know what happened – Xrays didn’t show any foreign objects which was at least a good sign.

Husband finishes up helping Santa while I’m gone and we go to bed after 3:30 AM.

We wake up at 7:30 AM and now Husband is sick. He manages to  get through the kids’ maniacal ripping off wrapping paper before he retires to bed for the day. I get the kids outside for a little bit but the sloppy ground conditions made it impossible to play in the backyard.

They were not so bad, after all.

They were not so bad, after all.

I finally get the call that afternoon to spring Curtis free. I also find out that McDonald’s is open Christmas Day because that was our dinner (with exception of Husband because no one wants that when they are sick).

That night I’m on the phone arranging my mother’s travel to Texas for the funeral. Luckily, Mom is old enough to score a senior citizen discount so the fare wasn’t too outrageous.

December 26th (Friday): M is back at daycare, thank god. I take Mom out to get some last minute things for her trip, then drive her to the airport. Husband thankfully feels a little better. His parents come over that afternoon to give more presents, which makes B think Christmas is more of a festival versus a one day deal.

I mentioned this before, but I will write it again – next year Christmas will be on a beach, or in Vegas. I don’t care – I need a break!

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Family, Life, Love, Ramblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

