The Flying Lizard Group.

Over the past few months, I have veered away from being in my own world to expanding my networking to the outside world. Well, the local outside world…but whatever.

At the end of last school year, I became the new Special Education Advisory Chair (SEAC) for my son’s school. Every school in the district has a rep for the special needs population at their respective area. So, I attend SEAC meetings for the school district and report back to the PTA. That takes up at least one evening out of the month plus any preparation for that.

Additionally, one thing I noticed is the need for a true parent support group. So – I created one. Well, kinda – there was one started last year but it never gained steam. I revived it and gave it a name (sorta like Flying Lizard but I’m keeping the name quiet for privacy sake). I’ve been pretty busy sending out emails, creating a newsletter…things I never thought I would be doing at this stage.

So far, turnout has been good. You know if you get a few parents here and there it’s been a success. 😉 In the past few months, I held an introductory  meeting, a meetup at a local indoor bouncy place, and a parent support (read: VENTING lol) meeting before the holidays. I have a couple other things scheduled – like bringing in outside resources for parents and whatnot.

In the past (gasp) five years I have come a long way.  Times change, and I know I have changed. I have had to reach beyond my comfort zones. That sucked big time because I do like being in my own bubble. I failed a lot. I still do, lol. But now when I meet new parents to the “club” I see what I had to deal with back then. Then I meet others with older kids and I can see what I might face in the future. Now when I talk to someone I actually can give suggestions without a confused look on my face.

It’s a bizarre, yet strangely comforting feeling.

Not by any means am I smart or anywhere near completing this journey. In fact, I just bent the ear of B’s pediatrician today about various concerns. The doctor of course is impressed with his progress but yet it’s not enough for me. I say this as a determined mom to her son, that he can kick anything that comes up in his path.

We always have to keep moving and reaching!

B's well visit. Obviously, this is his MOST FAVORITE exam room (hint: bus in background)

B’s well visit. Obviously, this is his MOST FAVORITE exam room (hint: bus in background)

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Ramblings, School and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Flying Lizard Group.

  1. Lisa says:

    That is terrific!!! Go you! I hope you continue to see success with your support group!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

