Another Day, Another Screening.

It’s been a while but I’m finally back up into proactive mode, which means looking up stuff on the Interwebz & bugging people on the phone.

First up – I finally got B in to see a neurologist. One that was recommended through Children’s and actually takes our insurance. Of course, it won’t be until MAY (thank you waiting lists) until he is seen but that at least has been checked off.  I’ve grown concerned at the tics B has developed – and quite frankly, he has never been seen for a neurological exam. Figured it was about time to get that sorted out.

Tomorrow B (and me) will undergo a screening for Elderly or Disabled with Consumer-Direction Home and Community Based Services Waiver. This is known as a EDCD Waiver. Unlike the IFDDS Waiver (DD Waiver) – which has an epic waiting list – this one does not. It also focuses on the medical aspects.  If accepted, B could receive agency-directed services, consumer-directed services, or a combination of both.

I pulled this image of alphabet soup with the words "HELP" on a spoon. Credit from Asperkids.com

I pulled this image of alphabet soup with the words “HELP” on a spoon. Credit from Asperkids.com

I do not know if he will qualify. What I do know is that I have become complacent in not seeking out services for my son. Part of it is my thinking that we “make too much” too qualify. (Yes, I know our income doesn’t necessarily count.) Part of it is simply that knowing that it may take YEARS of waiting just makes me want to give up. Part of it is simply the fear of rejection – not for B but for me.

But I guess I have to try.

So, a social worker and a nurse will be here first thing to pepper us with questions, and to see if B meets a certain threshold.

Of course, I’m a bit concerned as I read some of the medical concerns:

  • Chemotherapy
  • Use of oxygen
  • Use of physical restraints
  • Dialysis
  • Suctioning

We don’t exhibit those, clearly. But the Social Worker said that it’s never black and white. So, I guess we’ll see.

At least I thought it was going to be a complicated task, getting to the screening process. Apparently, it’s not. Contact your local health department and request a EDCD Waiver screening. Seriously, that’s it.

Also, check out the Arc.

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Autism Awareness, Life, Mayor Bee and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

