The Morning Routine That Will Not Make Me A Top Leader.

Did ya read this article in Forbes – The Morning Routines of 12 Women Leaders?

I cannot believe that I’m only reading this now after it was posted in November. But anyway.

I enjoyed reading of one woman’s “Check email, Facebook, TalkingPointsMemo, Jezebel while consuming coffee and muffin.” and another’s “Alarm goes off. No snooze. Pull on John Eshaya sweatpants and clogs.” (Who knew sweatpants could be fancy and pricey?)

And then I laughed…and laughed…and laughed.

I mean, props to them. Looks like they have it together. Me? Not so much…for example in my morning routine:

6:00 AM: Husband rolls out to take shower. I try to get another 10 minutes of sleep before it’s my turn for the shower.

6:02 AM: Door creaks open. Seriously – they should be spies with their hearing. One or both of the kids leaps into bed. Cue B conversation about some new fixation.

6:10 AM: Drag myself out of bed after repeatedly telling kid(s) to lower their voice, because it’s only 6:00 AM for crying out loud and we just.don’t.need.to.be.that.loud.

6:20 AM: Attempt to shower by myself. Ha.

6:30 AM: Manage to find some resemblance of a work outfit, with matching shoes for the gold star. Stop by kids’ rooms to get their clothes (because while I do tell them to get clothes, it’s like talking to a brick wall).

6:32-7:00 AM: If I remember, take my thyroid medicine (because I have to take that on an empty stomach). Breakfast for kids. No fancy pants breakfast for them – usually peanut butter & jelly waffles for B, some sort of cereal for M. Husband leaves for work.  Remind B to sit at the table to eat. Remind M to eat at a faster pace than a snail. Try to sort my work bag for the day.

Realize at some point that Husband told me before leaving that Curtis hasn’t eaten yet. Doh!

7:00 AM: Look up menu to see if it’s a lunch that B will eat at school that day. Pray that I have a Lunchable just in case it’s not of the three things he will eat. Do I have enough money in his SchoolBucks account? Crap, what am I eating for lunch? Scrounge in pantry for some food, cursing myself for not packing anything the night before.

7:10 AM: Remind B that he has to get dressed. He squeals off to the bathroom. I’m informed that one shirt has a tag and that won’t “work”. Find another shirt. Start the process of convincing M to get dressed so that she, too, can go to her “school”.

7:20 AM: B’s shoes won’t fit him “the right way”. Spend time trying to avert meltdown while I’m realizing that I didn’t check his school folder to make sure there wasn’t anything due. Ooops.

Did I pour my coffee yet? Where’s my work badge?

7:25 AM: Scrambling for coats/hats/mittens for both kids (M comes with us to the bus stop to see off her brother). Curtis starts his beagle call, notifying the neighborhood that we are, indeed, going to the bus stop. M informs me that she has to have “Dolly” to take with her, but she doesn’t know where it is. Frantic search for “Dolly” commences.

My hair is still wet because while I had a chance to comb out the tangles, I did not have a chance to dry it. It freezes against my head walking out to the bus stop.

This was me after walking B to school last week. Styling Working Mom Leader right here.

Styling Working Mom Leader right here.

7:30 AM: Bus pulls up, B gets on. Friendly wave. Now have to convince M to go back to the house so we can drive to her “school”.

7:40 AM: We are on our way. This is after forgetting and coming back for any of the following: her blankie, her entourage of toys (they rotate) for class, my cell phone, my coffee.

7:59 AM: Get to daycare and after some sort of separation meltdown am on my way. Start MY day, which begins with an always antagonizing commute to work.

8:00 AM: Realized I left my lunch on the kitchen counter. At least I have my coffee.

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Morning Routine That Will Not Make Me A Top Leader.

  1. Sounds a “bit” familiar lol!

    Like

  2. Autism Mom says:

    It makes you the top leader in your family – that’s pretty cool! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

