Denied.

226ASP6179944780

I had a feeling.

Yesterday I followed up with the social worker for the county. True to form, B did not meet the requirements for the EDCD Waiver.

As I suspected, it was mostly based on not being able to document an on-going medical/nursing need. I mean, I provided all the medical stuff to them – but clearly he was “not disabled” enough. Never mind all the other physical/cognitive difficulties.

Yeah, this is why people get discouraged about getting services.

Anyway, back to the DD Waiver list I go. Left a message with that person and we’ll go from there.

I am blessed that we manage on our own, that we have our own insurance, and he gets services from his IEP. I know that. I just wish he can get everything that he is entitled to.

Too many people, too little coin to spread around.

 

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Autism, Disability, The Lows and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Denied.

  1. The battle for services and paperwork is unfortunately one that never ends. It is discouraging! DC is still on his Dads insurance, but in order for him to get funding for his “work” program and a caseworker he has to have title 19, even though we don’t use it. It’s all a big circle of – you need this to get that, but before you get this you need something else! I never expected it to be easy, but I really never expected it to be quite this difficult just keeping up with what he already has!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

