Is It Spring Yet?

We’ve made it into the middle of February, and my patience for winter has worn thin.

At least we actually have snow today, albeit maybe 4 inches, tops. This is enough to close the Federal Government, to the amusement of many people (including my former Pennsylvanian self). Regardless, today means it’s a telework day for me, Husband is off, and I have two kids bouncing around the already bounced out house.  Did I mention that yesterday both were home due to the President’s Day holiday?

Anyway.

We had just had (finally) two straight, FULL, weeks of school. B has discovered that he is extremely skilled at debating, which means even more arguing about schoolwork, or something as simple as getting dressed. It’s been a battle over every little thing, and it’s beyond tiring.

What’s saved us is that B was selected into a new after-school activity. A special “club” that works one of the biggest challenges those on the autism spectrum face – social skills development. And so “Marvin’s Club” has landed at his elementary school, one of only seven in the county school system.

What’s Marvin’s Club? Well, it’s a program that has grown out of a local nonprofit, Developmental Connections. It’s a small group that expands on social skills utilizing the Social Thinking® curriculum. It first started at one elementary school in 2012 and has been in great demand for those that need extra guidance.  It meets once a week after school, and I’m beyond thankful that he was selected.

And so far, he likes it. As to how it translates at home – it’s hard to say. Also hard to say that they only have had two meetings (two of them were already canceled due to snow). But he enjoys it – as paraphrased by a staff member “I WISH I HAD IT EVERY DAY!”so hopefully it works out for us.

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

